Growing Old

As I have interacted with senior citizens, I have noticed a divide between them. Some of them grow sweet as they age. Others grow very bitter and grumpy.  Over the years, I have constantly told my wife that I want to be a sweet, encouraging old man. What’s the difference?

In some measure, I believe that it has to do with their treasures.  Those who are seeking their treasure with Jesus in heaven get happier and happier, because the longer they live, the closer and closer they come to their reward. However, those who are living for the pleasures of the world often get grumpier, because they are further and further away from “the good ole days.”

“Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also” (Matthew 6:21). Where’s your treasure?

Leave a Reply

