Listen to Advice

Several years ago, one of the members of our church moved to another town. At that time, he asked me to recommend a church for him to attend. After a bit of online searching, I recommended two churches that looked good and in line with the teaching of our church. At one of the churches, I even had a friend who also graduated from seminary I attended. However, without even considering these churches, he chose to attend another church.

He recently emailed me to tell me of the great disappointment he had in the church he chose to attend, even witnessing some unscriptural practices. I told him that I wasn’t surprised.

Now, he’s looking for a church again.  This time, he has visited both of the churches I recommended. He liked them both. How much easier life would have been for him if he had visited these churches when he first asked. “Listen to advice and accept instruction, that you may gain wisdom in the future” (Proverbs 19:20).

Leave a Reply

