Faith in Carbon Dating

While on vacation this summer, I happened upon a museum filled with dinosaur bones. At one point, I was interacting with one of the workers, who pointed out to me, “Those dinosaur bones are 14 million years old.” I responded to this question by saying, “How do you know?” She said, “Carbon dating has proved it.” (It wasn’t the time to get into an argument over the scope or reliability of carbon dating, which is quite a controversy.)

My only point here is how certain this museum worker was of the reliability of carbon dating. To her, the dating of the dinosaur bones was established fact. Her faith is in carbon dating.

My faith is elsewhere. It is in the risen Lord, Jesus Christ. (Read 1 Corinthians 15:1-28).

Leave a Reply

