Fan the Flame; Fight the Fight

On Sunday I finished preaching through 2 Timothy. You can listen to (or read) my 14 messages messages here.

Paul wrote the letter to Timothy because of Timothy’s discouragement in the ministry. He was facing resistance from many in the church, who were pulling people away from the faith. Paul’s council to him was “to fan into flame the gift of God” (2 Timothy 1:6). That’s the only way that anyone will endure in ministry–if God burns brightly in your life.

Throughout the epistle is a call to persevere through the hardships. Consider the calls to suffer hardship:

– “Join with me in suffering for the gospel according to the power of God” (2 Timothy 1:8).
– “Suffer hardship with me” (2 Timothy 2:3).
– “All who desire to live godly in Christ Jesus will be persecuted” (2 Timothy 3:12).

So, when Paul said at the end of his life, “I have fought the good fight; I have finished the course; I have kept the faith” (2 Timothy 4:7), the call to Timothy was clear. He was to “Fight the Fight” as well. Thus, the big idea that I derived from the book of 2 Timothy is this: “Fan the Flame; Fight the Fight.”

Leave a Reply

