Only Praying for Help

I was in a prayer meeting recently and a family was sharing about their children. Some were doing very well. Others were doing very poorly. They were sharing the joys of some of their children. And they were sharing the struggles of their other children.

As they were speaking, it really struck me: I’ve only been praying for some of their children. I’ve only been praying for their wayward children. I have totally missed praying for their children who are loving the Lord.

I’m convicted that I have viewed things wrongly. I have viewed prayer as merely seeking the Lord in times of distress, rather than viewing prayer as an opportunity to praise the Lord for the good. I need to see the good, thank the Lord for the good, and pray that He would continue to bless.

Leave a Reply

