Do You Have a Green Card?

For foreign citizens to live and work in the United States of America on a permanent basis, they must have a government-issued permanent resident card.  Informally, this has been known as a Green Card. Without it, a foreigner is here illegally and may be arrested, fined, and possibly sent back to their home country. With it, a foreigner is able to live as a productive member of society.

Christians are like foreigners in another country.  Paul wrote, “Our citizenship is in heaven” (Philippians 3:20). In a very real way, believers in Christ have another homeland, which is not here on earth.  Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world” (John 18:36).  It should feel as if we should have a Green Card even to have the permission to live here.

3 thoughts on “Do You Have a Green Card?

  1. This has little to do with your post today, but it was great to see you and have a meal with you at the conference (on pilgrimage; there, now it fits with your post). I hope you were strengthened by the messages. I was particularly helped by Wilson’s and Loritt’s messages. Loritt’s talk made me weep and long and yearn. I want to be a man who has such an impact on my children (whenever God grants them; I’m still waiting in faith).

  2. For my first 25 yrs in this country, I lived as a “resident alien”. I became a US citizen 18 yrs ago which gave me “dual citizenship” in Mexico & the United States. I became a christian in 1986 which granted me my citizenship in heaven. I can say then that I have triune citienship. I’m thankful for the first two… but I am forever grateful to our King for the third for without it, my soul would be eternally lost! “For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world, and forfeit his soul? Mark 8:36 (nasb)

Leave a Reply

