God Is There

A few days ago was an especially busy day for our children.  Two of our children were at theater rehearsal for an upcoming play. One of them was taking a class at the local community college. Another was at piano lessons.  My wife was leaving with my four-year-old son to run some errands, leaving me alone in the house.  As they were leaving, my son remarked, “Daddy won’t be home alone, because God is there.”

This is the great reality of God’s omnipresence.  God is there. David writes, …

Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the dawn,
If I dwell in the remotest part of the sea,
Even there Your hand will lead me,
And your right hand will lay hold of me (Psalm 139:7-10).

To the one who trusts in the Lord, such words ought to come as a great comfort to the soul. You are never alone. The Lord will continue to guide.

Leave a Reply

