The Righteous Need a Miracle

I went to high school with a friend of mine. His life and mine couldn’t have been more opposite. I grew up in a stable, loving home. The path to following Christ was only natural, as I have seen the blessings of such a life. My friend, on the other hand, grew up in a home filled with problems. In telling me of his drug problem, he said, “I wasn’t high on drugs all the time, only when I was awake.” He went to college and found Jesus Christ, who forgave him all of his sins. He went on to seminary and to serve as a pastor.

I remember well the time that he came to our home for lunch. He gave me a great perspective on my salvation and his salvation. He said, “Steve, it’s not a miracle that I became a Christian. My life was so messed up that I knew that I needed help. So, I searched for help, and happened to find Christ. But, you needed a miracle. You had everything that you could ever want in your earthly family. You had parents who loved you. Your siblings were loving and supportive. You had sufficient financial resources. In an earthly sense, you had no need for Jesus. It’s a miracle that you recognized your need for a Savior.” I thank the Lord for His working in my life.

Jesus said, “It is not those who are healthy who need a physician, but those who are sick; I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners” (Mark 2:17). It’s a miracle whenever a “righteous” person turns to Christ. Such ought to be an encouragement to the many who grew up in church and have loved Jesus from an early age.

Leave a Reply

