Extemporaneous Preaching

Charles Spurgeon was one of the greatest preachers the world has ever known (1834-1892). He preached at the Metropolitan Tabernacle to thousands. His sermon preparation was unique. Late Saturday evening, he would often go into his study and jot down a few notes for his sermon on Sunday morning. Sometimes they were but a few lines. At other times, they were more extensive, but rarely more than a page. What came out of his mouth was pure gold. I encourage you to read any of his thousands of published sermons to see what I mean.

I am quite the opposite of Spurgeon. I rarely preach on Sunday without a full manuscript of what I intend to say, having prepared for days. But, things changed for me this past Sunday. Due to various events that took place in our worship service, I ditched my prepared sermon and preached a sermon that I prepared in the pew as the service was going on.

My notes are here. You can listen to it here. I don’t know if I’ll try this one again. Spurgeon was much better than I am.

3 thoughts on “Extemporaneous Preaching

  1. The best resource that I know is Russell Moore’s book, “Adopted For Life” (http://www.amazon.com/Adopted-Life-Priority-Adoption-Christian/dp/1581349114)

    The best chapter that I know that deals with adoption is found in J. I. Packer’s book, “Knowing God,” chapter 19. Here’s the best quote from the chapter. “Adoption … is the highest privilege that the gospel offers: higher even than justification. … Justification is the primary blessing, because it meets our primary spiritual need. … And as justification is the primary blessing, so it is the fundamental blessing, in the sense that everything else in our salvation assumes it, and rests on it–adoption included. But that is not to say that justification is the highest blessing of the gospel. Adoption is higher, because of the richer relationship with God that it involves” (pp. 186-187).

    The Gospel Coalition has a plethora of sermons on the subject: http://thegospelcoalition.org/resources/category/sermons/a/topic/Adoption+by+God. Pick one. I’m sure it would be excellent.

    • Thanks. Emily has read Moore’s book, but I’ve not. (And Packer’s Knowing God. She’s a little theologian.) He’s going to be speaking on adoption in a few weeks at College Church, which Em and I plan on making. Absolutely love your adoption fund there at RVBC!

Leave a Reply

