We Need to Stop

After the time change this spring, I was driving in our car and noticed that the clock in the car was an hour off. So, I tried to it. All it had was one button. But, I just couldn’t figure it out. I tried holding the button down. I tried clicking the button quickly. But, nothing worked. So, I did the most reasonable thing, I did nothing, hoping that someone smarter than me would figure it out and change the time.

Anyway, a few days ago, I was in the car as my daughter was driving. She noticed that the clock was incorrect in the car as well. She tried changing the time, but couldn’t either. (I was feeling a bit vindicated). So, she did the most reasonable thing, she asked me to get the instructions out of the glove compartment and read how to change the clock.

The instructions said that the car needs to be stopped before you can change the time. Certainly, this is a good safety feature. It prevents people from crashing as they pay attention to the clock, and not the road.

I thought how this is like our relationship with God. There are times when we are going down the road of life, heading for danger. “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. … Cease striving and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:1, 10). We need to stop. We need to rest in Him. We need to know that God’s ways are best. We need to trust. He says, “I will be exalted among the nations; I will be exalted in the earth” (Psalm 46:10).

Leave a Reply

