A Praying Life

We just finished a study of prayer in our small group at church using Paul Miller’s excellent book, A Praying Life, by Paul Miller.  It is a great book. I heartily recommend it to all. The power of the book is it’s realism. Paul Miller doesn’t take you through a specific way to pray. He doesn’t pile burdens of methods upon your back. He simply encourages the reader to reflect upon the gospel and how prayer works in the busyness of each day.

Here are a few of my favorite quotes:

p. 20, “A praying life feels like our family mealtimes because prayer is all about relationship.”
p. 24, “We have an allergic reaction to dependency, but this is the state of the heart most necessary for a praying life. A needy heart is a praying heart.”
p. 32, “‘Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest’ (Matthew 11:28, NASB).  The criteria for coming to Jesus is weariness. Come overwhelmed with life. Come with your wandering mind. Come messy.”
p. 49, “Time in prayer makes you even more dependent on God because you don’t have as much time to get things done. Every minute spent in prayer is one less minute where you can be doing something ‘productive.'”
p. 64, “I didn’t learn continuous prayer; I discovered I was already doing it. I found myself in difficult situations I could not control. All I could do was cry out to my heavenly Father.”
p. 81, “In naïve optimism we don’t need to pray because everything is under control, everything is possible. In cynicism we can’t pray because everything is out of control, little is possible.”
p. 114, “Learned desperation is at the heart of a praying life.”
p. 126, “Suffering is God’s gift to make us aware of our contingent existence. It creates an environment where we see the true nature of our contingent existence. It creates an environment where we see the true nature of our existence–dependent on the living God.”
p. 170, “Jill and I do our best parenting by prayer.”

Leave a Reply

