The Crisis of Faith

Most Christians, as I can tell, go through a crisis of faith in their lives. By this, I simply mean a time in which they really question the reality of God or of His working in their lives. Sometimes it occurs when people are in their teens. At other times it occurs later in life. The result of these times is either an abandoning of the faith or a strengthened resolve to the realities of the faith.

The Biblical writers are no strangers to such feelings. More than a dozen times, we read the Psalmists expressing their doubts to the Lord saying, “How long?” (For example: Psalm 13:1, 2; 79:5; 94:3). Asaph chronicles his life by saying, “My feet came close to stumbling. My steps had almost slipped. For I was envious of the arrogant as I saw the prosperity of the wicked” (Psalm 73:2-3). Habakkuk said, “How long, O LORD, will I call for help and you will not hear?” (Habakkuk 1:2). Job said, “I cry out to You for help, but You do not answer me. I stand up, and you turn Your attention against me” (Job 30:20).

And yet, time after time, we can see the Biblical writers embracing again the God who they doubted. Asaph said, “I have made the Lord GOD my refuge” (Psalm 73:28). Habakkuk said, “I will exult in the LORD. I will rejoice in the God of my salvation” (Habakkuk 3:18). Job said, “I repent in dust and ashes” (Job 42:6).

What turned these men from trouble to trust? More often than not, it was a glimpse of the power of God. God is righteous. God will judge. God will make all wrongs right. We just need to wait.

Such thoughts have helped many through their crisis of faith.

4 thoughts on “The Crisis of Faith

  1. My dad (Chris Brauns) put this post on his blog. I asked him how to prevent these thoughts. he gave me an answer ,but he suggested me to ask you. Do you know?

  2. Marybeth, thanks for writing.

    Regarding having these thoughts, the fact that the Biblical writers had them ought to be an encouragement to you. Also, it ought to show you that God is patient with those who think such things. (Perhaps too patient). I would encourage you to learn from the ways in which the Biblical writers conquered these thoughts.

    A few days ago, I wrote (https://enjoyinghisgrace.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/do-i-need-to-fix-the-proble/) about Habakkuk. He was having some difficulties in his life and he was questioning God (Hab. 1:1-4). God’s answer was that things were worse than he thought (Hab. 1:5-11). Habakkuk still argued with God about these matters (Hab. 1:12-2:1). And then, God responded, essentially saying two things in chapter 2. First, “I will be the judge of all who work iniquity.” And second, “The righteous will live by faith” (Hab. 2:4). Chapter 3 is a testimony that such thoughts resolved Habakkuk’s questioning of God. The problems didn’t go away. But, Habakkuk had faith in the Lord (Hab. 3:18). Try reading through this book with your dad, looking for the big flow of the argument.

    Or, consider Job. After 30-some chapters of arguing with his friends about what happened to him, God responds to Job by showing him how great he is. (Job 38-41). Job may not have received all of his answers, but he definitely was humbled and put in his proper place.

    So, what will help you? Simply put: think about the greatness of God.

    The Biblical writers were helped when they gained a vision of God’s supremacy. So, perhaps you might be helped by reading the same things (Habakkuk and Job 38-41) that helped other godly men in the past. Perhaps there might be some other book that your father could recommend that you read. … Anything to get you thinking of God’s greatness.

    I hope this helps, …

Leave a Reply

