Parental Consent

With my son’s driver’s license comes more freedom. He went this morning to an eye appointment, … alone. However, when he arrived, he found that the optometrist was unable to examine him without parental consent, being under 18 years of age. So, my son tried calling my wife and I, so that we could give a verbal consent to the doctor’s office. But, we were unavailable. So, my son came home without the eye exam.  Slight inconvenience. He has to bear with his old prescription for a few more weeks until we can accompany him to a new appointment.

Isn’t it ironic that my daughter (who is also under 18) could have gone to another clinic to have an abortion (She isn’t pregnant). And when she would have arrived, no parental consent would have been necessary.  No questions. No phone calls. The “procedure” would have done. And, like many women who have an abortion, this little office visit would have haunted her for the rest of her life.

I think that something is dreadfully wrong.

Leave a comment